speech-bubble

Hello!!!

It is good to be back on the blog again. It’s been almost two months!

Firstly, I would like to thank the five people who have messaged me on my Facebook page over these two months, asking me when I was going to write next.

Also, a shout out to Tatiana who asked for my “Expert” advice on her first solo backpacking trip. Hope you are enjoying Vietnam!

(Yes I know, very few people cared that I was gone, but they are the special few for which the blog exists.)

So where have I been all this time?

At home. Literally I was lying on my couch watching TV the whole time. It is hot as hell here in Mumbai right now, and it seems insane to leave the air conditioned indoors. Hopefully the monsoon season will start by next month.

Mumbai looks super pretty when it rains.

Over the past two months, my laptop crashed a million times, bought new shoes and cleaned the old ones, read a few books, watched a ton of movies, and learned to make the perfect omelette.

Am I going to write again?

Yes, I will. It sucks to see the blog traffic drop but I needed a little break after 100 posts. I’ll revive the blog soon.

                 A Special Message……. that has nothing to do with travel

For the last few weeks, I have been researching about organ donation and realized this was something I really wanted to do.

For those of you who do not know what organ donation is about, it is basically signing a pledge to donate some of your organs like kidneys, pancreas, etc. to someone who needs it, after you die.

They say that thousands of people in our country die because of non-availability of these vital organs. Still people, for some reason, do not seem to be too keen on donating. This maybe because of two reasons

  1. Lack of willingness, which I can’t change because it is their choice, and
  2. Knowledge gap regarding the organ donation process.

If you fall in the 2nd category, I think I might be able to help. I have put together a set of Q&As that a person looking to know more about organ donation might find helpful.

( I know I had a lot of doubts when I started up)

annefrankquote

  • Is it legal in India? 

   Yes, Transplantation of human organs act 1994 legalizes organ donation.

  •  Will your body be disfigured after donation?

 Maybe a little bit. But since you will probably be clothed during your last rites, no one will be able to tell the difference.

  • Do you or your family members need to pay anything?

No

  • If the doctors know you are an organ donor, will they still try to save you?

As per the Act, four different doctors and neuro-surgeons have to pronounce you brain dead, before organ donation comes into the picture. There is a detailed process laid down in the Act according to which the doctors will need to act.

Also, a doctor is not going to kill you just so that they can save someone else.

(Unless maybe if you behave like an ass)

  • Will the doctors take permission from your family before the start taking out the organs?

Yes. Your family members will have the final word.

  • Can you cancel your pledge at a later date?

Yes, you can. My advice would be to take the pledge only if you are really sure about this. Don’t cancel it once you sign up. Don’t fuck around. Take it seriously!

  • Will you get paid?

It’s a donation. So, no.

  • Is it against your religion?

I am not a religious guy, so I do not know. However ask yourself, do you really want to follow a religion that forbids you from helping someone in need?

Remember the time you ate your friend’s rajma chawal and blamed it on the geeky first bencher? Remember the confused look on his face just before your friend punched him in the nose so hard that his glasses flew across the hall and broke into several hundred pieces?

Trust me, you have got a lot of explaining to do when you reach the pearly gates. Good deeds like organ donation can only help. 

Donating to Asaram Bapu will not help you get a place in heaven. Donating to the needy just might.

Again, let me reiterate, I am not a very religious guy. Enjoy the festivals and the holidays though.

  • Will it hurt?

It probably won’t since you will be dead when the donation takes place.

  • What’s in it for you?

The satisfaction of doing something nice and knowing that this simple pledge can actually end up saving lives.

  • How to take the pledge?

1st Step: Research. Make sure you really want to do this.

2nd Step: Find a nice organization and take the online pledge. 

3rd Step: Receive your donor card and keep it with you at all times.

Also, you might want to check out these two links.

  1. http://www.giftyourorgan.org/
  2. http://donatelifeindia.org/

Lastly, I intend to live for a long, long time and I’m sure you intend to do the same. But we all have to die someday. And when we pass on, after a long happy life, why not gift your organs to someone and help them live. What have you got to lose?

Think about it.

087037f9036849928a692d2167103ec5

    When is the next trip?

Soon. Very soon.

Bye for now

Thank you for reading this post. I know the post was a bit morbid but if all the earthquakes, tsunamis, floods and famines are anything to go by, God is seriously pissed at us. We need to look out for each other now more than ever. 

 the-greatness-of-humanity-is-not-in-being-human-but-in-being-humane

 

