ce-lgflag

I know that things have been a bit quiet on the blog lately, but I am glad to tell you that the boots are out of the closet, dusted off, and are ready to go, again.

I leave tonight for Chennai and then plan to hop into Colombo, capital of Sri Lanka. I do not have the rest of the trip planned, but I know I would want to visit a few beaches and ride a train that travellers keep writing about. I definitely want to try the food and Lion beer, which is supposed to be awesome. But most of all, I would love to experience the culture and the diversity that the country has to offer.

I think it is safe to say that at this point, I know nothing about Sri Lanka, apart from the fact that I hate their cricket team. I mean seriously, they play like helpless little orphans against every other team, but when they play against India, suddenly, they turn into rakshasas. They start hitting mammoth sixes, spinning the balls from unimaginable angles, leaping like monkeys on steroids to take catches. How is that fair, Sri Lanka? How?

(Taking a deep breath to regain my composure)

Anyways, I am going there with an open mind, hoping to learn as much as possible about the island nation.

Over the past few days, I have been trying to find some inspiring stories and experiences about travels in Sri Lanka, but apart from pictures of heavenly beaches, green hills and waterfalls, I have not found much.

And I intend to change that… ASAP!

005

By the way, the boots are super old now and today while dusting them off, I found a couple of new holes in it. So, this will definitely be the last trip for these boots, and I intend to buy a new pair once I return. (Recommendations are welcome)

Lastly, for the millions and millions of fans of this blog… (Fine, to the six people who follow this blog), while I intend to write a few blog posts when I return, you can travel along with me virtually by following my Twitter handle, @GoodOldBoots. I will be tweeting like a maniac all through the trip.

That is it for now.

“The Taxi is waiting… it’s blowing it’s horn”

Excited!!! Maza ayega!!!

