Peace..
Peace..

Tomorrow G-O-B turns one and I have to say, I never thought I would run it for this long. But I am glad that I have not given up on it, yet. Since, tomorrow I will be busy partying like crazy, partly for the birthday and partly for Independence day, I thought I will share a post today, on the eve of the first birthday!

It seems like just yesterday when I decided to pull the plug on Dringlefun (Read more about it here) and start a new blog.

The first thing that I had to do when I decided to start a new blog was to come up with a name. I thought of a corny, cheesy name, which at that time seemed just perfect. “TheSuperAwesomeTravelBlog.com”

Thank god, that domain name was taken because it gave me a little more time to re-think. I realised I did not want to give it a name like Dringlefun. I do not even know what that means. My friend and I googled for “weird, funny words” and came up with Dringlefun. Even though, I liked my first blog, I hated the name. I wanted to name it something that would actually mean something to me.

So, I asked myself, what is that one thing that I always carry with myself when I travel? What is that one thing that means the most out of all the things I travel with? What is that one thing that is uglier than a llama but stronger than a bulldozer?

It was my awesome seven year old boots. AKA Good Old Boots.

One of the bravest things I have done in my life
One of the bravest things I have done in my life

So, I registered the domain name with Big Rock, and soon with the help of web hosting services of Go Daddy, GoodOldBoots was ready to be unveiled on the world wide web. However, I still had to design it, which seemed like the hardest thing to do since I did not know how to do it myself.

I downloaded a few wordpress themes and tried designing it, hoping against hope that I will eventually make the blog look the way I want. Needless to say, I crashed and burned.

My friend suggested a few websites from where I could hire designers. I tried my hand in that as well, but either the freelancers asked for a lot of money (Rs.60000 for three pages!) or they turned out to be Pakistanis. I’m sure the Pakistanis would have done a decent job, but it is just that I did not want to accidentally fund a terrorist.

I asked my brother if he knew a good designer. Turned out, he did. He contacted him and soon we were talking about what I wanted on the blog.

I knew I wanted it to be clean and simple. I checked out a lot of other travel blogs for ideas and asked the designer to incorporate some of them in my site. I thank “Design From the Heart” for not only doing such a nice job, but also doing it for free.

However, human wants are never ending. I am again in search of designers who would do some cosmetic tweaks to the site. (Recommendations and applications are welcome).

Right in the beginning of this post, I shared a link to an earlier post. For those you did not care enough to click on the link, I would quote myself from that post:

“Yes, I know it is not like Good Old Boots has taken the world by storm like Justin Bieber, or that my posts are “out of this world”. But it was like owning up to something that I was really enjoying and moving forward with it.”

This statement stands true even today. The only reason I am still paying the bills of Good Old Boots, is because I still enjoy running it. I still love writing its posts, even though I know the quality of the posts may not be the best. And every now and then, I discover something cool (like that GOB birthday countdown!). Its a learning experience, atleast for newbies like me.

Over the past one year, I have found out that there are many people out there who love travelling and just like me, have blogs on which they share their experiences, and stories. It is always great to interact with them, and learn from them. Their posts always remind me the importance of improving my writing abilities.

Phi Phi
Phi Phi Island, One of my favourite places on earth

Another thing that I really need to work on is the frequency of the posts. The frequency, right now, is a bit like the local trains of Uttar Pradesh. We don’t know when it is going to come. No schedule. Always Irregular. I know I have to change that and I am working on it.

Last but not the least, I have to work on increasing the traffic. Even though, it is steadily increasing, it is still far far away from impressive. It just kills me to think that there are billions of people who still have not discovered this amazing blog. I hope they stumble upon my blog soon, bookmark it, and share it with their friends. It will change their lives.

There is one more thing that I would like to address in this post. I have received quite a few angry responses on this post. They claim that I have written nothing but shitty things about their hometown. They say, my perception about their city is all screwed up, and I ignore all the wonderful things that happen every day. Today on the eve of GOB’s first birthday, I promise that the day I see something good happening in the city, I will write about it. But all I see now is garbage, buffaloes, sugarcane, loud mouths, cow dung, lawlessness, separatism, superstitions, illiteracy, poverty, murders, robberies, child labour, accidents, shamelessness, and delicious tandoori chicken. Also, how do you even know I wrote about your hometown? I have given out no names.

Now that GOB has entered its second year (Woohoo!), I realise that it is high time I start working harder (or at least goof-off less often) on improving the contents of the blog. After all “content is the king.” I will have to seriously improve my writing and not ramble on like I am doing now.

I am going to end this historic post with this profound thought:

Good Old Boots will always be a work in progress because I know the moment I finish Good Old Boots, Good Old Boots will be finished.

(And remember, compliments and suggestions are always welcome. Complaints and criticisms however, are highly discouraged. I mean seriously, F*** you!)

The Superman behind Good Old Boots
The Superman behind Good Old Boots
