Ayu Beach Inn, @11.30 Pm, Kuta live from Room No 21

Welcome to this very special blog where I tell you what happened in the last two days… I wasn’t able to write yesterday because I didn’t have my travel adopter.. but who cares, here I am again with all the details..

So, I arrived in Ubud at around 11 am and was literally picked up by this guy who took me to his place for homestay.. even though at first I wasn’t sure whether living with an Indonesian family was a good idea especially because I usually came in late and I sure as hell don’t want to keep grandma awake till then… but the room was great and the guy’s mom was really caring and soft spoken.. so, I decided to stay for one night and figure out the next day whether to extend my stay… the house was so big… it had a fountain with a lot of nice small fishes.. it had a dog, I hated it because it barked at me once… then there were chickens and little kids running around.. the guy’s brother was very friendly too.. I broke his door latch and he nicely asked me to  give him the pieces and he will fix it… anyone else would have made me pay for the repairs.. the head of the family was Nyomann Marjana who is also a painter…

I had bought this lonely planet book the other day and I used its map to roam around the city… went to the Ubud Palace and a Museum which enlightened me about the city of Ubud and its rich heritage. There is also a sacred monkey forest which was nice and scary at the same time.. Ubud market was quite interesting too… in the afternoon and the morning, I had some of the best food there was to offer.. in the evening, I visited the Ubud palace for a cultural dance program which was enjoyable for like 10 minutes and after that I felt so bloody sleepy…but sleeping in the middle of a program may have been a bit rude and my lonely planet guide book asked me not to be rude to the Indonesians.. so, I stayed awake…barely! After the show, I found it really hard to find the Marjana household, especially because a) it was located in a small alley.. and b) Ubud seems to fall asleep really early.. all the shops were closed and the streets were pretty dark. Finally after walking around in the main street for 15 minutes, asking quite a few people,I finally found the narrow alleyway that led to the house.. the main door was closed however, it wasn’t locked..I could have pushed it and went in.. but no, thats not how I do it… I decided to knock.. why?

I will have to take you back to that afternoon, when I came back to the household for a quick shower before heading off to the dance program.. I pushed in the main door and went in.. just then that bloody ass dog saw me and started barking… Damn! I dont like being barked at.. thankfully the mom came and shut the dog up… she asked me to shout “aqua” if the dog barked at me next time…

So, as I made my way back to the house that evening, it was about 9.30 pm, I had the mental image of the dog barking at me when I enter the house.. then in a state of panic, I would shout AQUA AQUA AQUA.. (I wake the whole neighbourhood..) but the dog doesn’t understand me because of my accent.. and it bites me in front of the whole household and its other guests..  I thought I cant let that happen.. so, I stood there knocking on the door… every now and then, I peek into the house to see if anyone is coming…but no one came…I was getting tired and bored.. then I saw the mom coming towards the door… I quickly start knocking again.. no answer…FUCK! I peek in over the wall of the compound and see that mom was looking around as if to figure out where the knocks were coming from… apparently no one has knocked on her doors before… so, I call out to her… “Can you please unlock the main door”.. she was like “what?”… I call out again… “Can you please unlock the main door”.. In the dark she couldn’t recognise me.. I decided to show her my room key and yell out “I have a room here”.. so, finally she opens to the door… she was like “door not lock.. I lock when all guest in house” or something like that.. I was like “ oh.. I didn’t know that the door was not locked… I saw the closed door and I started knocking..”. She was like.. “Its okay… no problem.”

Now, was that all worth it?… all that yelling and time waste… and frustration…just to get away from that dog… Fuck Yeah! I hate dogs..

The next morning, after grabbing a quick breakfast I caught the 9 am shuttle bus back to Kuta.. the city of Eat Pray Love was getting way too high ended for my liking..I needed to get back to the party scene… after an extremely frustrating ride which took 2 minivans and about 2 and a half hour, finally we reached Kuta.. I decided to look for a few other cheaper guest house option for my last two days stay in Bali.. Tried out a place called the Diana House.. cheap but no wifi in the compound.. screw it… moved on to the Lonely Planet recommended Masa Inn… pretty nice… actually super nice.. but a bit out of my budget… naaaaaaaaaa! tried another one, it was full…finally decided to drag my ass back to the Ayu Beach Inn.. the guy at the counter was happy to see me… gave me a little discount which I availed gladly… that day I didnt do anything… just hung around at the beach, having Bintangs and tasting the local cuisines.. great day…

