10.30 Pm @ Bed no 3043 in Lub D Bangkok, Siam, Bangkok

so, this is it… I know I havent written in for the last 3 days but I cannot be blamed… Its Bangkok… the last 3 days just whizzed by and my flight back home is in 9 hours… Damn, Ill miss this place… so, here is the rundown of the last 3 days…

landed in Bangkok at around 2 am on the 6th after a long and frustrating flight… Oriental Thai sucks…hope they go bankrupt and the Thailand government doesnt give them a bailout package.. I was supposed to land at 9.30 pm..but thanks to a little rain, the flight got delayed…and kept getting delayed… now, you might say, planes get late all the time…whats the big deal… fine… lets give the Oriental guys benefit of doubt on that one…. we check in… they serve us burgers from the Burger King… no wait…didnt serve us… they kept 100 burgers in a tray at the checkin counter.. we helped ourselves… still, lets not over react… the flight was supposed to take off at 2000 hours and it was 2230 hours when we got on the plane.. needless to say, I was very tired and just wanted to get some sleep… kept telling myself, Ill get some sleep on the plane… so, i get to my assigned seat number and what do I see…some girl is sitting on my seat… I ask the hostess… apparently we have been allotted the same seat… Okay.., mistakes happen… have patience.. I keep standing for 10 minutes as I all the other passengers, get to their seats… eat their burgers… some even fell asleep.. Me, still standing…. the air hostess finally comes… asks me to sit at the business class….FUCK YEAH! FREE UPGRADE! I settle down… I get comfortable… and just as I was waiting for my Cuban cigar and my private butler, I am asked to get up because the seat is assigned to someone else… so, I stand at the gate of the plane with the lady who greets the passengers as they enter the plane… If you were a passenger entering the plane at this point, you would have seen a lady greeting you (“kapukhaaaaaaa” or whatever they say… ) and a guy wearing an ugly Bintang T Shirt, with a burger in hand standing next to her with a stupid blank look on his face… it was Biman Bangladesh all over again… All in all, a terrible experience… Fuck you Oriental Thai guys…burn in hell…Thankfully, when I finally touched down in Bangkok, I was lucky enough to find a nice honest cab driver and had no problems getting to my hostel…By the way, my hostel, Lub D Bangkok is awesome… Recommended for all backpackers! I intended to spend only one night here before moving to Khao San…but the first night was so comfortable and the staff are so awesome, I stayed here for the rest of my stay…

next day, woke up and after having breakfast at a road side stall, I took bus no 25 to China Town for 4 bahts… travelled like a local… roamed around in the markets for a while…then it all started to come back to me… so, I kept walking… I remembered the shops, the streets and after about half an hour of walking…I ended up at the temple of Reclining Buddha, Wat Pho… the ticket prices have increased since October…now costs 100 bahts… then walked at the way to Khao San road… had some beer and pad thai… good stuff… always a pleasure to be in Khaosan.. took the Fast Boat to Saphan Taksin and then came to Siam via BTS… watched Mel’s latest… slept a bit, but watched 90% of it… A day well spent….

next day, frankly I didnt know what to do… I have been in Bangkok way too many time in the last one year…. and I didnt feel like going to the same places over and over again…. so, I went to the victory monument and took a cab, after a really frustrating moto cab ride, to the Dushit Zoo… pretty shitty move on my part… Zoo wasnt that great… only good thing was you can see the animals from real close…so close that at time you dont feel very safe… Especially the bear enclosure… they can get out of there if they werent so damn lazy…get off your ass, Winnie the Pooh! In the afternoon, watched Snow White and the Huntsman… nice movie…Loved it! roamed around at the malls and the streets all day… at night went to watch another movie but fell asleep… and left at the middle of it… Movie halls at the Paragon are very comfortable…especially after a long tiring day…

today, I got up early and went to the famous Chatuchak Market… its basically a big ass market with over 5000 stalls… with seperate sections for clothes, paintings, pets, books…. you name it, they got it… after that, went to the Titanic Exhibition at the Central World Mall… had a real good time… the exhibition had a lot of real life stories of the survivors… many real life artifacts.., and ofcourse the whole history of the ship…it was great… also, James Cameron and his team must have researched well because the stuff exhibited here totally tallied with the movie…

So, I have my flight back home scheduled for tomorrow…not excited at all…. pretty bummed actually… wish I could go back in time and start all the way from Railay again…. but I must say, when I was leaving Bali, I was like Bali might just be my favourite city now… but Bangkok stepped up… and stepped up big… from sleazy bars to fancy restaurants , from night markets to hi tech malls..Bangkok has got it all… and it hasnt changed much over the last year… they might not know me or remember me, but I remembered them all… the gay guy at the reception. the sardar at the sidewalk selling clothes, the lady with the weird glasses, the fat guy who feeds the pigeons.. they are all where I left them… and hopefully they will all the there when I come back to the City of Smiles next time… whenever that is…

What a trip…. and I cant think of a better place to end it… Bangkok!

